Welcome!

Hi there! Welcome to my blog. This is my first attempt at blogging, so please don’t mind the bumps. The purpose of this blog is to document my preparation for running the Chicago Half Marathon on Sept. 11, 2011. Along the way, I ‘m hoping to raise $1000 for the Children’s Cancer Association. My involvement with CCA started about a year ago when I was looking for a place to volunteer with to gain some experience in hospitals as a prep for nursing school. I quickly decided that the Chemo Pal program was right for me, and was matched with my kiddo in Oct. 2010. The first appointment I went to was overwhelming, I wasn’t sure if I was helping or getting in the way, but then my kiddo grabbed my hand and took me for a walk around the clinic and since then this journey has been wonderful. So for her, and every kid that has, is, or will be fighting a serious illness I want to help CCA bring joy and smiles to their worlds. And you can help too! Visit my fundraising page to donate. Thanks!

P.S. Most posts will be more about how my training is going and less about pestering you to donate.

One thought on “Welcome!

  1. Astraea loved you from the first moment! I was amazed, because she wasn’t used to befriending people at the hospital. But you were different, gentle, fun, loving. She was contented by you and I could finally exhale. I don’t worry as much as I did about the clinic visits because I know your presence is a HUGE relief. Astraea has actually asked – on several occasions – to go to the doctor so she can see Maddy. She adores you, as do we. We are so so so grateful you are in our lives and can’t imagine going through this without you.

Leave a Reply

