Harvest Days 8k!

I ran my first race today! I may have played a hundred soccer games growing up but I’ve never run a race so I decided it would be a good warm up for Chicago. It was a typical Washington summer day, about 55°F and rainy even though the forecast said partly cloudy last night.

Getting ready, glad I brought my rain coat.
Fancy timing device that Jen really liked.

I was a bit nervous before the race, and felt a bit like I was in a cattle herd but after the first turn I could settle into a rhythm.

We're off!

I felt better as the race went on, I guess that’s a sign I should actually warm up before running (I’ve gotten lazy in my old age). Turns out that the hill I thought would be a gentle incline was not so gentle but I powered up it the best I could and it was mostly downhill from there.

Coming into the finish, can't miss the purple CCA shirt!

Jen was at the finish line to meet me, such an awesome friend to get up at 5:30am and drive me to Battle Ground and then hang out in the rain. All in all, it was a lot of fun and I feel a lot more prepared for the half.

Proof
One thought on “Harvest Days 8k!

Leave a Reply

