An Evening with the Children’s Cancer Association

Once a month CCA has a Chemo Pal meeting, each meeting having a different guest speaker. This month the speaker was Heather Keller, MA, CM-Th, Music-Thanatologist who spoke about using music in palliative and end of life care. It’s a bit different than what we do as Chemo Pals but it was wonderful to hear about another resource that can help our kiddos. The thing I enjoy most about Chemo Pal meetings being around other Chemo Pals. I sometimes find it hard to talk about my experience as a Chemo Pal because when most people think about kids with cancer it’s all sad thoughts. I feel odd saying that I look forward to my kiddo’s appointment or enjoy my time at the hospital, but I do. I hate that she has to go through chemo but love that I get to have the privilege of helping her through it. When I’m at the hospital nothing else matters, only she does. It doesn’t matter if I’m not in a great mood, I didn’t get much sleep, had a bad soccer game the night before, or even have just gone through a break up, at that time my only goal in life is to bring a smile to her face. It’s not just about bringing joy to your kiddo, but experiencing the joy with them to the fullest and with that the pain and sadness the comes with cancer becomes somewhat more tolerable, until some point where the joy becomes the the main feeling. That’s what I feel when I see or think or talk about my kiddo. The joy of seeing her grow, progress and heal. I feel so honored to get to go through this experience with her.

On a less serious note, I had a chance to restock my toy bag. Each Chemo Pal gets a toy bag that they bring to the hospital with them and CCA has a toy closet in their office that you use to fill your bag. I got some awesome new goodies:

I think my kiddo is going to have a blast with them, she’s really into animals and counting these days.

So, I know I said in my first post that I wasn’t going to bug you too much about donating, but it’s going to happen in this post. Even the smallest of donations helps buy a new toy or match a kiddo with a Chemo Pal. You know you want to and it’s super easy, just click the donate link at the top of the page and you’ll end up at my fundraising page. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

