2 Days 8 Hours 26 Minutes!

Holy (enter your choice expletive here)!!! I have to run 13.1 miles in less than 2 1/2 days. Some moments I feel prepared and other moments I feel utterly unprepared. I think most of that comes from tapering, which I’m not a fan of. My 12 mile run was almost 2 weeks ago, yes, I’ve still been running but nothing longer than 4 miles. I’m not sure my body is going to be happy to run 13.1.

Today I had planned to run some errands and start packing but it turned out that there was a much more important thing for me to do. I’m starting to volunteer at the emergency department at Doernbecher and today was my first day of shadowing a fellow volunteer. It was going great, I’m really going to love it there, but then the worst/best thing happened, I walked into a room and there was my kiddo. It’s the worst because the last thing she needs right now is to be in the ED, but the best because I was able to check in on her throughout my shift and then stay with her after my shift until she was discharged. Her parents then graciously had me over for dinner so I got to spend an awesome evening eating burritos and putting puzzles together with her. My kiddo’s dad also gave me a bunch of energy gels that he got while running Hood to Coast for my run, thanks!

Awesome quick enery

In other awesome (yeah, I’m using the word awesome a lot this post but it’s late and it’s been a long day so it’s the only word I can think of) news, I rode my bike to a from work yesterday!

Cutest bike in town

I know, this feat is not all that impressive, especially in Portland where almost everyone commutes by bike, but I’ve been petrified to ride in traffic, mostly because I worry that I’m going to crash into something. But my awesome (there it is again) friend Anna let me tag along with her and taught me everything I need to know, and even put my chain back on when it feel off. Thanks Anna! My dream of doing a triathlon next year might just be attainable!

2 thoughts on “2 Days 8 Hours 26 Minutes!

  1. YAY! I’m counting for you and I’ve been a horrible friend who’s disappeared for the last week but I have very solid excuses for why this has happened, but be not afraid, I’ve been thinking of you lots and sending you super awesome thoughts.

Leave a Reply

