Chicago Half Marathon Race Recap

I made it! I may have been a bit gimpy for the last 8 miles but I made it across the finish line in 2:24:56. The morning started off very early at 4:30am, which to us west coasters felt more like 2:30am.We caught the L to downtown and then got on the Metra.

Turns out the L and the Metra don’t take the same tickets. We didn’t find this out until the woman collecting tickets came around. She said it wouldn’t be a problem, it would just be $2.50 each. Well, between my mom and I, we only had $2. After a few tense moments a very nice gentleman in the seat behind us handed the lady a $5. Thank you kind sir!

We made it to the race with plenty of time to spare and stand in the very long port-o-potty line. Then it was time to find corral.

My mom wants to take a lot of pictures.

The first 5 miles of the race went great. I found the 2:10 pace group and hung with them. At 5 miles my average mile was under 10 minutes and then my body said ‘f you’. I got a shooting/cramping pain across the front of my left knee cap that lasted the rest of the race. I ended up having to stop every 1/4-1/2 mile to try to stretch it out. it would only help for a few steps before it started hurting again so my pace slowed a lot. My final average mile time was 11 minutes. not quite what I was hoping for but after a bit I reminded myself that I wasn’t doing this to qualify for anything, just to have fun and for my kiddo. That made me get a bit emotional for the rest of the race, anytime I thought of my kiddo or someone cheered my name tears would start to well up. There were a couple of close calls but I managed to not cry on the course. Thankfully there was a lot of water stations and misters on the course, plus a lot of people to cheer us along and soon enough I crossed the finish line.


Now it’s time for some ice and rest, then enjoying Chicago for the week.

All in all, it was a great time! Thank you to everyone who donated and supported me, you are all my heroes!

2 thoughts on “Chicago Half Marathon Race Recap

Leave a Reply

