…Ouch…

Most people fell mentally sore their first week back to school in fall quarter but not me! Because of some credit craziness (long story) I’m taking 2 PE classes this quarter, Lap Swimming and Abs/Lower Body. Yesterday I did more squats and lunges than I could count and this morning I swam a mile.

This is the pool in the new PSU rec center, sadly my class is in the old rec center, which has 30 ft concrete walls and no windows.

Minus a couple of half assessed one off lap swim trips over the years, I haven’t really swam since in was a kid and was taking swimming lessons. It felt good! It especially helped my sore thigh and butt muscles from yesterday… until about 20 minutes after getting out of the pool, that is. Then I tried to go up a flight of stairs… I was a somewhat convinced that I wasn’t going to be able to make it to the top. I’m pretty sure I’m more sore today than I was after the half marathon! I then spent the rest of the day slowly shuffling around campus dragging my bag that had a chemistry book and a giant anatomy and physiology book in it. My muscles did not appreciate the extra weight.

The best meal to end a long day of incredible soreness? Fried okra and biscuits and gravy from The Delta! I took a picture of that amazingness that is fried okra but my camera is in the other room and my muscles refuse to let me get up, so I’ll leave it to your imagination. It’s going to be a long quarter…

Who has sure fire ways to combat incredibly sore muscles? Share your wisdom!

Leave a Reply

