Running Without Actually Running

Sometimes you don’t need to go for a run to feel like you’ve ran 10 miles, you can just spend 4 hours volunteering in the peds ER at Doernbecher and have it feel like your hardest workout for the week. The last 2 of my 3 training sessions were very quiet, kids were staying healthy and uninjured like champs. This evening was a whole different story. It was packed from the moment I got there and never let up. If this is anything like what it’s going to be like being a nurse, it’s going to be crazy and I’m going to LOVE it. It also meant that I got to ride the tram (or jelly bean as my mother calls it) at night for the first time.

The river
The floating hospital

It was quite the way to end my first week of school. Let’s just say it’s been a long week. Although I’ve gotten in multiple swim session and some Pilates and abs work in, there was no running to be had. Without a race to train for I’m not good about putting some miles on my feet. So yesterday I signed up for:

The Run Like Hell 10k!

Problem solved! Guess that means I’ll be out running again come Sunday, hope my feet are too angry with me!

Also, dressing up for the race is encouraged, anyone have any running friendly costume ideas?

Leave a Reply

