It was all going so well…

So, let me tell you about my weekend (yeah, I know it’s Saturday, it’s been a long week). Actually, let’s back up to a week ago Thursday, it was a very good day. Jen and I went on our first run at work.

Ready to rocket around the waterfront. Awesome photo credit to Nick. (Happy Nick?)

As you can see, we are posing next to a lovely display of homemade chocolates that are for sale.

Don't they look delicious? All proceeds to LLS

Special orders can be accommodated.

I’m pretty sure Friday was awesome as well; I just can’t for the life of me remember what I did. Maybe I’ve had one too many soccer balls to the head.

Saturday is where it really starts to get good.  Jen and I had our weekly Team in Training long run, that day meeting at Fit Right NW and having a hydration clinic before the run.

We look very serious, it probably lasted for about 10 seconds.

We talked about the importance of staying hydrated, replacing lost electrolytes, and what color your urine should be (a soft yellow). Then we headed out for a nice 4 mile loop that had us heading up a bit of a hill in the NW, then down to the Pearl and back around to Fit Right NW.  I felt pretty good while running and it was a personal distance record for Jen!

Then it was off to soccer with Sped, which goes down as a check in the win column, and I finally scored a goal after having a scoring drought for months. Double win!

After soccer it was time for our birthday/bowling fundraiser.

It was a great turn out and we raised $155! I also broke triple digits for both games, even if it was only 100 and 101, I’m counting it.

It was nothing compared to Janelle’s turkey, and Javier’s 5 strikes in a row, which we decided was called a turducken wrapped in bacon. Coincidentally, that’s what we had for Thanksgiving 2010.

After bowling we went to dinner, which was lovely and wonderful. Then WHAM!

It came out of nowhere.

It all took a very ugly turn. By the time I got home from dinner I wasn’t feeling so good, so I thought I’d lay down for a little bit. That lasted for about 10 minutes before I had to spend way more time with my face uncomfortably close to the toilet than I’m happy with. As I told my friend Gina the next day, I threw up sorority girl style, which how she described the first time I puked from alcohol while we were studying abroad in Paris. If you’re wondering what ‘throwing up sorority girl style means’, picture tears, and whining, and flailing about on the bathroom floor. In other words, it’s super cute (yes, that is my sarcastic voice I’m using). At one point I couldn’t make it from the bathroom to my bedroom, which is at most 15 feet, so I laid down in the hallway for about 5 minutes, and then had to crawl back to the bathroom. I then spent all of Sunday being dehydrated and having awful leg cramps. In fact, I felt so awful I only made it out of the bed to grab a bottle of Gatorade out of the fridge, I didn’t even ever make it to the couch.

While I was pathetically languishing in bed, Jen, Jacob, Lindsey, Megan, and Jeff went down to the Clackamas Town Center, stood on the street corner and somehow managed to raise over $500 between them. Bad ass.

I was feeling somewhat better by Monday so I went to work, though functioning on ½ of a bagel, some saltines, and Gatorade didn’t make for the most productive day. Jen and I did sort of go for a run at work, which consisted of running to the US Outdoor Store (about 7 blocks away) since we both had Groupons, then running back to the office when I realized I had left mine on my desk, running back to the store, then running over to the food carts so Jen could get lunch, then walking back to the office (can’t risk the food getting dropped when running). It came to a grand, impressive total of .76 miles. Meh, I got an adorable purple snow hat out of it, to me it was a great success.

So warm.

I’m sure you noticed the awesome I ❤ Sweat shirt because how could you not. I got it from this lovely girl Ali, who raised more than $20,000 for the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation. Simply amazing.  Thanks for making such great shirts Ali! I will proudly represent the sweat lovers on Portland.

Speaking of sweat, Tuesday at track night I decided to only do 4 400s instead of 6, which I think was a wise decision since I was wanting to actually be functioning on Wednesday. Look at me getting wiser in my old age; it’s kind of weird.

The rest of the week has flown by full of latkes and matzo balls (this Jew loves her some Hannukah food), old friends that are in town, and discovering Ticket to Ride on the iPad.

Double the menorahs = double the Jewish

I may be considering moving in with Sam and Anna so I can curl up on their amazingly comfortable couch with Sam’s iPad. I mean, I love you guys because you’re super cool fun… no seriously, I’m having TTR withdrawals… please come back soon…

Such a beautiful sight.

Since it’s Christmas Eve we didn’t have our usual TnT long run, instead Jen and I had planned to get some snow shoeing in on Mt. Hood. That plan was thwarted by the lack of not old and icy snow, even at Timberline Lodge. So instead we hung out in the lodge and ate a bunch, which is totally the same thing…

 

We’re definitely running tomorrow, otherwise I’m going to wake up on Monday 10 pounds heavier than I am today.

It just feels right to end this post with a sunset shot from the drive down Mt. Hood.
Leave a Reply

