Freeze Your Thorns Off 5k Virtual Race Recap!

A free race that I can fit in with my regularly scheduled run? I’m definitely not going to pass that up. So today I participated in my first virtual race, the Freeze Your Thorns Off 5k hosted by Adam at The Boring Runner. (Also, hi Adam! I totally stalk your blog. But that’s how it works on the interwebs, right?) The weather cooperated perfectly with the theme of the race as it was a crisp 32ºF at 8:00am but at least it was dry which is quite surprising for Portland in the winter. I counted the first 3 miles of my 7 mile Team in Training run as the race but since I’m on a roll of being super forgetful lately I forgot to print out the bib or take a picture while running. So I did this instead:

Post run sweaty face.

I know, I’m soooooooo creative. I also don’t own a printer.

The run itself went well and included a bit of sprinting so that I didn’t get run over by a car. I forgot my watch so I’m not sure what my time was but my probably wrong guesstimate would be around 30 minutes for the 5k and 1:10:00-1:15:00 for the full 7. I then proceed to eat my weight in potato pancakes and pull pork. Sounds like a weird combo but it actually worked. (And no, I know what you’re thinking, but there’s no chance in hell that I’m pregnant, I just eat weird stuff)

Thanks Adam for putting this race together! Or, well, telling people to run and take pictures.

Leave a Reply

