Galentine’s Day!

Happy Galentine’s Day!

(Disclaimer 1: I hate Valentine’s Day. Even when I’m dating someone I have a strict no gift policy. In fact, last year when I was in the ‘omg, it’s a new relationship and it’s awesome’ stage of a relationship I still instituted the no gift policy and I pulled a Liz Lemon; I purposely scheduled a dentist appointment for Feb. 14.)

(Disclaimer 2: Galentine’s Day was stolen borrowed from Parks and Recreation. If you haven’t watched the show, go do it now. Go ahead, I’ll wait.)

Good, now that you’ve watched all 3 1/2 seasons, you’ll know that Galentine’s Day is Leslie Knope’s way to celebrate her girl friends, and that she loves waffles. My friends Jenni, Anna and Katie decided to combine the 2 into one amazing evening.

We had a bit of a false start at the Pancake House, which may serve pancakes 24 hours a day but they only serve waffles on the weekend. So, after a little iphone searching,

iphones to the rescuse

we ended up at Jam on Hawthorne because this is on their menu.

Ah-mazing

We decided to Ron Swanson each waffle, i.e, each waffle had bacon in it. While it seemed like a great idea at the time, turns out, this is such a thing as too much bacon. I know, shocking. We decided to go all out and get 4 waffles to share, so this is what we went with.

And what they looked like.

Yeah, we did finish everything, plus a plate of sweet potato fries. I love having friends that love to eat. But more than that, I love how wonderful my friends are.

Ok, so the last picture was a little silly, but it’s not often I wear heals.

Life is better with great friends. And waffles may become a monthly event, at least one can hope.

One thought on “Galentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

