Double Digits!

10 miles done. Bam.

And what a great 10 miles it was. Even though my last few long runs have been with my Team in Training group I’ve ended up on my own for all of them but yesterday I ran the first 8 with awesome Mentor Kat and it was nice to run with someone even if we didn’t spend most of it chatting. The second mile felt hard and even for a bit I ran a few steps behind Kat thinking I’d let her go ahead but I ended up staying with her the whole time. It was nice to feel that push. Normally on long runs I’m more concerned with getting though it without feeling like I’m going to die, but yesterday I spent 10 miles being right on the verge of going too hard but still managed to push my way through it. And, it paid off. My not so precise timing skills put my average miles splits around 9:30, making this the first run over 4 miles that I’ve averaged a below 10 minute pile pace. Boo yeah. I finished the run with a sprint up the final hill in Laurehurst Park and I was pumped when I finished. Well, I was pumped after I spent a few minutes bent over with my hands on my knees swearing quite loudly. Not one of my finer moments in life. This is the first run all season where I feel like my hard work is paying off and my goal of 2:15 is achievable.

So how does one celebrate their first fabulous 10 mile run? With their first fabulous 10 minute ice bath.

Actually, fabulous would be one of the last words I would use to describe this experience. In fact, I did use a whole lot of other words while in the bathtub, most of them inappropriate to use in front of small children. Let’s call this ice bath leg numbingly fun… ok, yeah, I won’t quite my day job…

How do you make an ice bath a somewhat pleasant task?

1) Bundle up on top

and 2) Distract yourself with Parks and Rec and drink tea, lots of hot tea.

If you do both of these things, it will lead to being able to half smile while you’re losing the feeling in your legs.

The best thing to do after that is to get your mother to make you dinner and spend the evening cutting out panels for making sparkly skirts.

Sorry about leaving that pile of sparkles on your kitchen table, mom, love you! Bo found it to be quite entertaining. Or maybe that was the food she was excited about it.

Today it was skirt assembly day. More sparkles everywhere.

Thanks Christine and Nicole for your help!

56 days until Eugene!

Leave a Reply

