5 Days Until Eugene!

Who’s excited?!

I am!

I’m also on Prednisone, so I’m inappropriately happy most of the time. Why am I on Prednisone you ask? Well, some nice friends of mine, not going to name names, decided to share some germs with me and my wimpy lungs couldn’t put up a fight. Turns out sad lungs make for tough running days, or no running days at all. So with 5 days until I have to run 13.1 miles, in the last week and a half I’ve run a total of 8. So while I’m really excited that Eugene is almost here, I’m not feeling the most prepared.

But oh well! Prednisone Maddy is still pumped about it! I’m also excited about our fundraising.

Thanks to everyone who donated! And hey, there’s still time if you want to join the party.

Speaking of parties, we had our Eugene send off party last week, complete with s’mores.

I wish I had time to tell you about all of my wonderful teammates, captains, and coach. They all have stories about who they run for, their family and friends that they lost or helped fight cancer, their own stories of survival. It’s easy to get consumed with all the running we’ve been doing, but it’s important to remember why we run.

Eugene also marks the end of our journey together as a team and I’m going to miss seeing all of these wonderful faces bright and early on Saturday mornings, or in the rain on track nights. We had our last track night tonight, which was actually a fun run around theĀ Esplanade followed by pizza and I’m sad to know next Tuesday I won’t be headed to Duniway to run in circles with everyone.

But before that I have to get through 13.1! The weather looks great for Sunday, I’m beyond excited to know that Kelley and Gina are going to be by my side. Kelley is also on Prednisone, so we’re going to be quite the pair, either laughing hysterically or crying hysterically when we cross the finish line, or maybe the whole race.

Bring it on Eugene!

One thought on “5 Days Until Eugene!

Leave a Reply

