Weekly Recap: Episode 1 for the Portland Marathon

Since I know everyone is really curious For my own need for feeling accountable, I’m going to start doing a weekly recap for the Portland Marathon training cycle. Welcome to the first episode of the Weekly Recap (suggestions for a more creative title are welcome), which is actually week 8 of the season. Here’s the short version:

I hate that Map My Run puts ‘indoor’ even when I title the workout. Anyone know how to change that?

Sunday: rest/try to walk like a normal person after the 11 mile trail run the day before/make it back to civilization from camping and enjoy a real shower.

Monday: unscheduled rest day, my legs were still angry over the long trail run.

Tuesday: that ‘indoor’ on the calendar was futsal (soccer), it was really hot and I wanted to melt.

Wednesday: yoga (‘indoor’) at 7:30am, you better be proud of this night owl getting her ass to a class that started a mere 7 minutes after my alarm normally goes off. Also, I haven’t been to a yoga class in about 10 years, it left me very sore. Skipped TnT track night and went to happy hour.

Thursday: 4.83 miles, managed to not crap my pants.

Friday: Went to yoga (‘indoor’) at lunch, was a different teacher then Wednesday, wasn’t as awesome.

Saturday: 8 mile TnT long run out in the ‘burbs, was really hot, felt awful, spent the rest of the day trying to cool off, didn’t really work, couldn’t find a sub so I had to play soccer (‘indoor’) at 11:10pm, we didn’t have any girl subs, scored 2 goals, managed not to puke on the field, we won. Win.

Overall: fewer miles than I would have liked but I’m trying to increase my core strength and I feel I’m off to a good start. 83 days until Portland!

Leave a Reply

